Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Home Sports Sergio Ramos and Lionel Messi Become the 3rd and 4th Players to...

Sergio Ramos and Lionel Messi Become the 3rd and 4th Players to Score in 17

- Advertisement -

Sergio Ramos and Lionel Messi scored for Real Madrid and FC Barcelona respectively in their teams’ recent La Liga fixture, and they have in the process become the third and fourth players respectively to score in 17 consecutive seasons in the history of La Liga.

Ramos became the third player to achieve the milestone after he converted from the spot in the 82th minute for Real Madrid against Real Betis, a match which the defending champions won 3-2.

Soon, Messi followed Ramos’ suit as he, too, scored from the spot as Barcelona thrashed Villareal 4-0 in their La Liga opener. The Argentine will be hoping to keep on scoring goals for Blaugrana in what could very well be his final season at the club he joined as a child.

- Advertisement -

In August, the Argentine had formally requested Barcelona that he wanted to leave the club. However, the six-time Ballon d’Or winner backtracked from his decision since he did not want to take Barcelona to court. However, his contract with Barcelona will end next summer and he will be free to leave the LaLiga side.

Meanwhile, Koeman’s journey as Barcelona coach got off to a perfect start, while Real Madrid have had a rather slow start to the new season, with the Los Blancos being held to a goalless draw in their first game, and had to wait till the 82nd minute to grab the winner in the second game.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

You cannot copy content of this page